RA Summer Exhibition


London, 3 June 2015: Leading British artist and influential teacher, Michael Craig-Martin CBE RA, this year’s co-ordinator of the Royal Academy’s Summer Exhibition, has focused on a new layout of the Main Galleries, curating an explosion of colour. The Summer Exhibition will open to the public on Monday 8 June 2015.


Michael Craig-Martin has invited the Turner Prize nominated artist, Jim Lambie, to create a signature installation for the RA’s Main Staircase and invited Liam Gillick to create a site-specific work for the Central Hall. He has also invited a significant number of mature artists to exhibit works this year, some of whom have balanced work as artists with distinguished teaching careers. They include Vanessa Jackson (RA Schools), Stephen Buckley (University of Reading), Jon Thompson (Goldsmiths) and John Hilliard (Slade School of Fine Art), as well as Dick Smith, Keith Milow and Andrew Lord.

Other prominently featured artists include recently elected Honorary Academician William Kentridge and Tom Phillips RA who is exhibiting his monumental work Humument that has been in progress since 1966. Grayson Perry RA, Anthony Gormley RA, Anish Kapoor RA, Cornelia Parker RA and Jasper Johns Hon RA will all have works on display in the exhibition. Newly elected Royal Academicians including, Rose Wylie, Rebecca Salter, Eva Rothschild and Farshid Moussavi will also be exhibiting works, several for the first time this year. The RA’s youngest Academician Conrad Shawcross has created a new site-specific installation for the RA Courtyard entitled The Dappled Light of the Sun, 2015.

The Summer Exhibition is the world’s largest open submission exhibition, comprising a range of media including painting, printmaking, photography, sculpture, architecture and film. The Summer Exhibition has been held every year without interruption since 1769 and continues to play a significant part in raising funds to finance the current students of the RA Schools.

The hanging committee for the Summer Exhibition includes Royal Academicians Norman Ackroyd who will oversee the ever-popular print room, Olwyn Bowey, Gus Cummins, Jock McFadyen, David Remfry, Mick Rooney, Alison Wilding and Bill Woodrow, who has curated a room dedicated to sculpture. The architecture room will be curated by Ian Ritchie RA.


Each year the Royal Academy awards a number of prizes for outstanding works within the Summer Exhibition. The Charles Wollaston Award is given to the ‘most distinguished work’ and the winner for this prestigious award will be announced online on Saturday 6 June.


The Charles Wollaston Award is given to the ‘most distinguished work’ in the Summer Exhibition. At £25,000, it is one of the most significant art prizes awarded in the country. The judges for this year’s award are Ann Christopher RA, Jock McFadyen RA and the writer and art critic Kelly Grovier.

The 2015 shortlist is as follows:

Richard Long, Mississippi River Blues (Cat No 45, Gallery III)
Rose Wylie, Herr Rehlinger In White Armour (Cat No 63, Gallery III)
Humphrey Ocean, Sea (Cat No 117, Gallery II)
William Kentridge, Remembering The Treason Trial (Cat No 480, Small Weston Room) Keith Milow, First And Last (Cat No 730, Gallery VI)
Tom Phillips, A Humument (Cat No 1111, Gallery X)

The Jack Goldhill Award for Sculpture
£10,000 for a sculpture.
Tim Shaw, Erebus (Man on Fire Version II) (Cat No. 1100, Lecture Room)

The Hugh Casson Drawing Prize

£5,000 for an original work on paper in any medium, where the emphasis is clearly on drawing. Carla Groppi, After Atget (Cat No. 974, Gallery IX)

The Sunny Dupree Family Award for a Woman Artist

£4,000 for a painting or sculpture.
Vanessa Jackson, Homage a Henri (Cat No. 12, Central Hall)

The London Original Print Fair Prize. Sponsored by Towry

£2,500 for a print in any medium.
Ian McNicol, Red Versus Blue (Cat No. 697, Gallery V)

Arts Club Charitable Trust Award

£2,000 for a work in any medium (except architecture). Ade Adesina, The Questions (Cat No. 770, Gallery VII)

The British Institution Awards

Four prizes of £1,000 each awarded to student exhibitors for paintings, works on paper, sculpture and architecture.
Tom Palin (Cat nos 165, 166, Gallery II)
Simon Dean (Cat no. 421, Large Weston Room)

Petra Regent (Cat no. 610, Gallery V) Richard Seymour (Cat no. 957, Gallery IX)

The Rose Award for Photography

£1,000 for a photograph or series of photographs. Caroline Abbotts, Floor Studies (Cat No. 984, Gallery IX)

Turkishceramics Grand Award for Architecture

£10,000 awarded to the most outstanding work of architecture.
Peter Barber Architects, Coldbath Town – Mount Pleasant Sorting Office (Cat 447, Large Weston Room)

The AKT II Architecture Prize

£5,000 awarded to an architect aged 35 or under for a work in any medium.
Laurence Pinn, Ben Kirk and Andrew Diggle, Urban Flora Propagation Field Box (Cat 467, Large Weston Room)


Edited by Qiwen Ke


© 2011 ART.ZIP all rights reserved.  ISBN 977 2050 415202

Site by XYCO